Does Local Food Taste Better?

I’m not going to lie, I’m not much of a cook. I know a few easy recipes  but in general it was my parents and grandmother that did the cooking. Our family loves to eat, so we experimented with different things.

Sometimes, when we are in a time pinch we would run to the grocery store, grab a a couple of steaks or burgers, and make a quick meal out of it.

One of the things I noticed is that the beef we got packaged from the grocery store just didn’t taste the same as the steak we got from the butcher.

On Thanksgiving, the store-bought turkey just didn’t taste as flavourful as the free-range turkey.

So why is local food so tasty?

Well, to start, the local vegetables and fruit we buy in-season is at its best when picked. It also has been recently harvested, which is a quicker way to our plate. It hasn’t been frozen or refrigerated in any truck.

With meat, free-range local meat are not pumped with steroids. And as for our well-being knowing, we know they have been ethically raised and killed.

In my opinion, local is better. I would rather buy local than organic I am supporting my local economy, which eating fresh, yummy food.

What do you think?

Does Local Taste Better?

Let me know @OliviaRutt

One thought on “Does Local Food Taste Better?

  1. It might be all in my head, but I’ve always thought that buying fresh food from my farmers market tastes way better! After growing up with it, I personally love the taste of unpasteurized honey, which is something that you can only get from local beekeepers and farmers markets… I can’t stand the pasteurized stuff!

Leave a Reply

